3. The Sixteen Groups of Human Rights.

3. The Sixteen Groups of Human Rights

The 16 groups of Human Rights as recognized in the articles of the two International Covenants of Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) and on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) are:


1. The right to feed oneself

The right to be free from hunger
The right to an adequate standard of living, including adequate food, clothing and housing
The right to work
2. Labor rights
The right to just and favorable working conditions
The right to form and join trade unions
The right to strike
3. The right to social security

4. The rights of families, mothers and children

Protection of the family
Freedom of marriage
Rights of the child
5. The right to physical and mental health

6. The right to education

The right to compulsory primary education
7. The right to take part in cultural life and the right to free scientific progress
8. The rights of minorities


9. The right of recognition and equality before the law

10. The rights of prisoners

Concerning capital punishment, right to life, prohibition of torture, slavery, and arbitrary arrest, basic principles of the penal system
11. The right to a fair trial
Equality before a court, assumption of innocence, prohibition of ex-post-facto laws and of imprisonment for debt
12. The right to liberty of movement
Protection of foreigners in case of expulsion
13. The right to freedom of opinion
Protection of the individual’s sphere of freedom,
Freedom of thought, conscience and religion,
Right to free speech
Prohibition of war and discrimination propaganda
14. Freedom of peaceful assembly

15. Freedom of association

16. The right to participation in political life

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *